Home » » 7 Surigao del Norte towns now under state of calamity

7 Surigao del Norte towns now under state of calamity

Seven towns in Surigao del Norte province were placed under state of calamity, after landslides triggered by heavy rains brought by tropical storm “Lando" killed seven people in the province.

GMA’s Flash Report said the state of calamity was declared in the following towns, allowing municipal officials to tap into their respective calamity funds:

• Clavier;
• Gigaquit;
• Malimono;
• San Francisco;
• Alegria;
• Mainit; and
• Placer.

According to the 11 p.m. Monday report of the National Disaster Coordinating Council (NDCC), separate landslides claimed the lives of two people in Placer town and three others in Tagana-an town.

The fatalities were identified as Diosdado Leproso, 42, and Melencio Macas, 29, both of Magsaysay village.

Although two people also died and at least six houses were destroyed by a landslide in Surigao City, the local government is not keen on placing the city under a state of calamity.

Surigao City Mayor Alfonso Casurra said they are not considering on declaring a state of calamity as weather in their area is already improving.


ليست هناك تعليقات:

Popular Posts


The exciting lineup: 39th Bonok-Bonok Maradjaw Karajaw Festival Contingents Revealed!

Are you ready to be swept off your feet by an explosion of color, rhythm, and culture? The 39th Bonok-Bonok Maradjaw Karajaw Festival is jus...


Post your ADS here


Contact Us


بريد إلكتروني *

رسالة *

About Us

Your news and information authority


أرشيف المدونة الإلكترونية

Recent Posts

Copyright © SURIGAO Today | Powered by Blogger