Home » , , » 2008 National Surfing Cup winners bared

2008 National Surfing Cup winners bared

The national winners of the 2008 Billabong surfing cup were honored during the awarding ceremonies held Thursday (September 18) in this town.

As expected, local surfers from this town dominated both in juniors and seniors category where Dionisio Espejon led the seniors category, winning P30,000 in cash, while the Alipayo brothers composed of Peter Paul and Paul John were declared 1st and 2nd runners-up, respectively, getting home with P10,000 and P7,500 in cash.

Runners-up in the seniors' category are Zaldy Coldura, Luke Landregan, and Martin Taniegra. They each receive P20,000, P15,000, and P10,000, respectively.

Meanwhile, Danny Coldura was declared champion in the Juniors' category, winning P15,000 while Mark Canon grabbed the 2nd runner-up position, receiving P5,000.

Four semifinalists both from the two categories also received cash prizes. For the Seniors' category, the qualifiers received P5,000 each while P1,500 were given to each who qualified in the Juniors category.

Also, the eight participants who made in the quarter finals each received cash prize of P2,5000 for the seniors' category and P1,000 for the juniors.

A total of P166,500 cash prize were given to winners in this competition. Tomorrow (September 20), the 14th Siargao International Surfing Cup will commence at Cloud 9.

As of press time, 48 confirmed participants including the winners in the national level and from other countries including Australia, Hawaii, Bali Indonesia, Israel, and Japan will vie for the most coveted title as this year's international surfing champion where US$20,000 cash prize is at stake. (PIA-Caraga)

No comments:

Popular Posts


The exciting lineup: 39th Bonok-Bonok Maradjaw Karajaw Festival Contingents Revealed!

Are you ready to be swept off your feet by an explosion of color, rhythm, and culture? The 39th Bonok-Bonok Maradjaw Karajaw Festival is jus...


Post your ADS here


Contact Us


Email *

Message *

About Us

Your news and information authority


Blog Archive

Recent Posts

Copyright © SURIGAO Today | Powered by Blogger