48 surfers expected in Cloud 9 for 2008 Billabong Surfing Championship

Some 48 confirmed participants are set to arrive in Gen. Luna, Siargao Island, in this province for the 2008 Billabong Cloud 9 Invitational Surfing Championships that will run on September 20-26, 2008.

As reported by billabong.com, leading the charge in the prestigious tournament includes the defending event champion Australian surfing star Wade Goodall (Caloundra) and some of the world’s most prolific tube riders, including 2006 Pipeline Master Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii) and professional big wave rider Makua Rothman (Hawaii), as well as fearless Australian chargers Laurie Towner (Yamba, NSW, Aus) and Dylan Longbottom (Coolangatta, Qld, Aus).

This desirable event with a special cash prize of $20,000 will commence at 10:00 am on Saturday, September 20 at Cloud 9, Gen. Luna, Siargao island, followed by a welcome lunch for guests and international competitors.

The tournament contest location is in ‘Cloud 9’, a powerful hollow right-hander that has been hailed as one of the ten best waves in the world and has been frequently compared to the renowned surf of Hawaii and Indonesia.

The Billabong Cloud 9 Invitational is supported by the Provincial Government of Surigao Del Norte with the support from the Department of Tourism. (PIA)

Please Select Embedded Mode To Show The Comment System.*

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال