Comelec accredits political party, Partido Padajon Surigao the only registered local political party in Caraga

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has accredited and recognized only one political party in the entire Caraga Region composed of the provinces of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur.

This surfaced Monday as Chairman Jose A.R. Melo issued a public reminder that the last day for filing of petitions for registration of political parties, whether national or local, is Monday, Aug. 17, 2009, pursuant to Comelec en banc Resolution No. 8646 dated July 14, 2009.

Melo said Aug. 17 is also the deadline for filing of petitions for registration of parties, organizations and coalitions under the party-list system of representation.

Comelec records showed that the only registered local political party in Caraga is Padajon Surigao founded by Rep. Francisco T. Matugas in 2006 and to which 18 municipal mayors in Surigao del Norte are now affiliated.

The mayors exodus to Padajon Surigao was reported to have loosened the grip of the once powerful clan of the late Sen. Robert Z. Barbers on Surigao del Norte politics.

Latest reports showed that Surigao del Norte Governor Robert Ace Barbers who used to be regarded as the last man standing in their family, has now only three mayors on his side from a total of 21 in the whole province. (E.T. Suarez, Manila Bulletin)

Please Select Embedded Mode To Show The Comment System.*

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال