Home » , , , » Surigao Norte towns pilot sites for climate change-resilient communities

Surigao Norte towns pilot sites for climate change-resilient communities

Three towns, namely General Luna, Del Carmen and Dapa in Surigao del Norte are among the eight municipalities chosen as pilot sites for developing models of climate change-resilient communities in agricultural and forested areas.

A DENR press release said that this four-pronged $4.97 million project, under the Philippine Climate Change Adaptation Project Phase I will be using updated scientific data on climate risk management.

DENR Secretary Ramon Paje said that as the project seeks to address vulnerabilities of the agricultural and natural resource sectors to climate change, it also recognizes the need to strengthen biodiversity conservation and forest protection efforts to bring down poverty especially in these rural communities.

He added the project is consistent with the goals of the administration’s priorities on poverty reduction and sustainable development.

The other provinces are in regions 2 and 6, to include the towns of Penablanca and Tuguegarao City in Cagayan province, and Janiuay, Pototan and Dumangas in Iloilo.


No comments:

Popular Posts


The exciting lineup: 39th Bonok-Bonok Maradjaw Karajaw Festival Contingents Revealed!

Are you ready to be swept off your feet by an explosion of color, rhythm, and culture? The 39th Bonok-Bonok Maradjaw Karajaw Festival is jus...


Post your ADS here


Contact Us


Email *

Message *

About Us

Your news and information authority


Blog Archive

Recent Posts

Copyright © SURIGAO Today | Powered by Blogger