Electoral protests vs Romarate, Matugas, Egay dismissed

The Second Division of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) has dismissed for lack of merit the election protest against three elected officials in Surigao del Norte.

The Comelec Second Division dismissed the petition to nullify election results filed by former officials of the province against Surigao del Norte Rep. Guillermo A. Romarate Jr., Governor Sol F. Matugas, and Vice Governor Arturo Carlos A. Egay Jr.

It also cleared the election charges against the municipal board of canvassers (MBOC) of Sison town in the same province.

The petitions were filed by former Surigao del Norte governor Robert Ace Barbers, former vice governor Noel P. Catre and former Surigao City mayor Alfonso S. Casurra.

In a 10-page Resolution promulgated on January 19, 2011 and unanimously signed by Comelec Commissioners Nicomedo Ferrer, Elias Yusoph and Lucenito Tagle, the Second Division of the Comelec said the petitioners failed to present substantial evidence to support their allegations of irregularity in procedures and venue.

The resolution said the petition was an exercise in futility because the total number of voters in the contested precincts in Sison, Surigao del Norte would not materially affect the results of the elections for the positions of governor, vice governor and second district representative of Surigao del Norte. (MUC/MB)


Please Select Embedded Mode To Show The Comment System.*

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال