PGMA to sign law establishing Caraga State U

Young people in Region 13 will now have access to quality education with the establishment of the Caraga State University (CSU) in this city.

The Caraga State University (CSU) is the result of integration of the Northern Mindanao State Institute of Science and Technology (NORMSIST) in Ampayon, this city, and the Northern Mindanao College of Science and Technology (NMCAST) in Cabadbaran, Agusan del Norte.

The bill, authored by Representative Jose S. Aquino II of the First District of Butuan City, provides that the main campus will be located in Butuan City.

President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo will sign the bill into law at the NORMSIST gym tomorrow.

Region 13 is composed of the provinces of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, and Surigao del Sur and the cities of Butuan, Surigao, and Bislig, comprising a total of 70 municipalities and 1,346 barangays.

The Caraga State University will offer undergraduate and graduate courses within its areas of specialization, specifically in agriculture and environmental studies, fishery, engineering, forestry, industrial technology, education, law, medicine and other health related programs, information technology, and arts and sciences.

The measure also states that the existing high schools will be transferred to the jurisdiction and supervision of the Department of Education (DepEd).

Please Select Embedded Mode To Show The Comment System.*

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال