Home » , » Cabadbaran, Tandag and Bayugan to be reverted back to municipality IRA

Cabadbaran, Tandag and Bayugan to be reverted back to municipality IRA

The Department of Budget and Management Caraga Regional Office sets to implement within this month the Internal Revenue Allotments (IRA) of Cabadbaran in Agusan del Norte, Bayugan in Agusan del Sur and Tandag in Surigao del Sur which will be reverted back to municipality IRA.

DBM Caraga already received from Supreme Court the writ of execution declaring as unconstitutional the laws converting 16 municipalities into cities because of its failure to meet the P100-million annual income requirement stated in Republic Act 9009 that took effect in 2001.

Based on records, some of the 16 towns and municipalities were only generating a yearly income of P20 to P30 million.

The 16 includes the cities of Baybay in Leyte, Bogo in Cebu, Catbalogan in Samar, Borongan in Eastern Samar, Tayabas in Quezon province, Lamitan in Basilan, Tabuk in Kalinga Apayao, Batac in Ilocos Norte, Mati in Davao Oriental, Guihulgan in Negros Oriental, Carcar in Cebu, El Salvador in Misamis Oriental, Naga in Cebu, including Tandag, Bayugan and Cabadbaran in Caraga Region.

"We are just waiting for the DBM Central office to finish the recomputation of IRA's which is due next week, for us to implement to concerned local government units their new IRA figure and the 3 cities reverted back to municipalities", said Regional Director Joecel Obenza.

The IRA share will be reduced as a result to the reversion of Tandag, Cabadbaran and Bayugan back to municipality status.

Once implemented, local officials feared, projects will be affected, once again deprived of the much needed funding for development and worse, if the 16 cities that have been reverted back to municipalities should be made to refund the Internal Revenue Allotment that they have received while they were still classified as cities.

Earlier the League of Cities said the conversion of more cities have resulted in lesser funds for older cities as IRA's was slashed to augment in the creation of new IRA figure for the newly converted cities. (dxBN-Radyo ng Bayan Butuan/PIA-Caraga)

No comments:

Popular Posts


Siargaonon women surfers dominate Pilipinas Surfing Nationals in Baler

Three Siargaonon women surfers went victorious during the Pilipinas Surfing Nationals  Leg 2 in Baler, Aurora recently. Nilbie Blancada (C...

Home Top Ad

Post Top Ad


Car News

{getPosts} $results={4} $label={Cars} $type={block2}

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here









نموذج الاتصال


Email *

Message *

About Us

There are many variations of passages of Lorem Ipsum available.

Popular Posts


Blog Archive

Recent Posts

Unordered List

  • Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit.
  • Aliquam tincidunt mauris eu risus.
  • Vestibulum auctor dapibus neque.

Sample Text

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation test link ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate another link velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.


Theme Support

Need our help to upload or customize this blogger template? Contact me with details about the theme customization you need.
Copyright © SURIGAO Today | Powered by Blogger